A letter from the Boa Flouncer!


Dear Fellow Boa Flouncers,

On August 13, 2012 the Katrina Byrd Fanpage reached 1,000 likes!!

The Katrina Byrd Fanpage was created on January 21, 2010 by Katrina Byrd, writer, playwright, actress, performer and teaching artist. Though I’d learned of the many benefits of having a fanage during a workshop led by Diane de la Casa and sponsored by the Mississippi Arts Commission, the thought of starting a fanpage frightened me. I am not beautiful, rich or famous. Who would wa
nt to follow me? As I created the page I thought of the words of my friend and mentor Diane Williams. “It’s about the journey,” she once told me. So I often think of the Katrina Byrd Fanpage as a documentation of my journey as a storyteller. As I tell my stories on stage, in the classroom, on paper, through music I share it on the Katrina Fanpage. The fanpage features links to community events, pictures, promotions of other artists as well as Katrina Byrd and original posts like:

Today is about getting things done. Coffee. Done. Sitting down in favorite chair. Done. Doing work that requires me to put down my coffee mug and get out of my favorite chair….well, hey I can’t do everything in one day.
Feburary 26, 2010

This morning I attempted to give my kitty cat a pill. I scooped him up and opened his big Tom Cat cheeks and poked in a pill wrapped in tuna. Tuna went down smoothly. I got the pill back. Okay, so I was finally successful but now I have more holes than Swiss cheese.
March 31, 2010

During the first year the Katrina Byrd Fanpage grew to over 300 fans. By January of 2012 the Katrina Byrd Fanpage had grown to over 600 fans. The growth of the Katrina Byrd Fanpage is due to the amazing support of friends, family, and organizations – Novel Publicity, Jackson Free Press, Writers of the South, The Indie Exchange, Book Junkies, Coffin Hop, Book Titans, Center Players Community Theatre, Fondren Theatre Workshop, ACLU of Mississippi and many others. The Katrina Byrd Fanpage which has two administrators – Dora Robertson and Katrina Byrd – reaches a diverse selection of women and men from age 13 – 65 and up. The 1,000 fans on the Katrina Byrd Fanpage represent 20 countries, 20 United State’s cities and 9 languages including French, Swedish and Arabic.

In addition to using the Katrina Byrd Fanpage to promote myself and other artists, I also find that it is an awesome way to get instant feedback on writing. As I shared in Dramatist to Dramatist, a writing workshop that I designed, making post on facebook as well as blogging and tweeting are wonderful ways to jump start your writing life. These posts my appear small but I can spend as much as 45 minutes to prepare a facebook post.

This is Katrina Byrd reporting outside of the dance studio where Chloe Bryant Campbell , the famous dancer, will be rehearsing. I am here with my camera man, Jim. –Oh, there she is! (I’m running toward her) Chloe!! Darn it! She went inside before I could get to her. I’ll try again later. (Jim) “Uh…Katrina. Uh..your hair.” (Katrina) “What’s wrong with my hair?” (Jim) “It’s on the ground.
A post promoting Chloe Campbell’s upcoming dance recital; .May 24, 2010

On my 2nd bowl of ice cream the little voice inside my head said, “Just eating ice cream for breakfast will make you sick.” So on the third bowl I added chocolate and nuts.
April 12, 2011

At times we all feel that we’re at a stand still. When I feel that I’m not moving forward. I turn to the chick behind me and say, “Get your FOOT off of my boa!!” And then I’m able to move forward with the poise and grace of a bull in a china shop.
August 29, 2011

One thing I can’t stand is fr someone to interrupt me during my exercises. There I was in the middle of my sit downs when the phone rang. Can you believe it? I had to get up, lay my dark chocolate candy bar on the table next to my caramel latte and answer the phone. After I said hello the caller wanted to know if I was Melvin Johnson. Being the kind, sensitive person that I am I said, “Yes, this is Melvin. How can I help you?” Then there was silence. After a few brief moments of audible oral processing, which included a few expletives, the caller realize that she had the wrong number. she said, and I quote; “I got da’ wrong numba'” I ended the call and returned to my chair. Well, at least I got two sit downs in this afternoon.
August 14, 2012

Since the beginning of the Katrina Byrd Fanpage I have remained dedicated to sharing my journey, promoting others, flouncin’ my boa and sharing humor.

Fellow boa wearers, check this. I was outside this morning cleaning out the ditch in front of my house. Now I know I was ugly. A woman just knows these things. My shirt was torn. My jeans had more holes than Swiss Cheese. I was sweaty and I did NOT smell the best. Sweatin’ does that to me, you know. And we’re not gonna EVEN talk about my hair. Chile, it was bawled up on my head. Anyway this dude in a truck drove by. Nice truck too. He passed the house then backed up; did you hear me? I say, the brotha backed up just to ask me for my phone numba’. Either I’m tough stuff even when I’m ugly or the dud needed a ditch cleaner for his yard.
August 10, 2012

I am so thankful for the support that everyone has shown for the Katrina Byrd Fanpage. It is with a grateful heart and a plushly feathered boa that say thanks for being on the Boa Flouncer’s Team!

Katrina Byrd
Story teller and Boa Flouncer

Leave a Reply

