Are You Here for the Service?


Over the past few weeks I’ve attended three funerals and have visited hospice once. So, in an attempt to free myself from grief and mourning, I go to the church to hang out with my friends in the craft room. As I walk into the church there’s a gentleman seated on a bench in the hall. As I approached he stood. His face was solemn and he held a folded sheet of paper in his hand. Before I could say anything he said, “Are you here for the service?”

Service? It was Thursday and from the glum look on his face, the service certainly wasn’t one of happiness. GEEZ!! “No,” I said politely and shook his hand. “Please to meet you.” As I continued down the hall I spotted a friend. We hugged and started for the craft room together. Before we could reach the steps leading to the hall of the craft room we were stopped again.

“Are you here for the service?” a nicely dressed lady asked me.
“No,” I said quickly. “I’m here for the craft room.” I wanted to tell her that I have attended enough funerals PLEASE just let me go to the craft room.

It’s been a hard year. Don’t get me wrong, there have been some wonderful things happening too but the stress of the good and the sad have been a bit overwhelming. But the important thing is that I’m getting through it. We can all make it through the tough times.

Leave a Reply

