Where I get IT!


Where do you find inspiration and ideas? 

This has got to be one of the questions I hear the most.  It’s a difficult question to answer because I find inspiration everywhere.  At times it comes from playing the “What If” game and other times inspiration comes from listening to others.  For example, inspiration for my newly published short story, The Night Papa Died, came from listening to my friend Dora’s account of how her small community dealt with death when she was a child.  She talked of how people sat with the body and how the family cleaned the body.  Dora also told me of how the sick were cared for in her small community.  Listening to her story brought about many ideas which I combined and included in The Night Papa Died.   

(Excerpt from The Night Papa Died)

A chill went down my spine.  I stood no more than four feet from a killer.  I wanted to bolt from the room, run into the cold night just to free myself from this reality.  Then I began to wonder if I too were a bad seed.  There had been times that I’d wanted to kill papa.  He was a mean old cuss like Uncle Mitch said.  Used to come up behind me and pluck me in the top of my head, a pain so intense it knocked the very breath from me.

If you’d like to read the rest of the story log onto http://www.psychedelicliterature.com/blackmagnolias.html  and click on “purchase current issue.”

Leave a Reply

