Just do it


For the past few weeks I’ve been in an interesting place.  You know the one where you know that you have a lot of work to do and you’re kind of like a deer in headlights.  And of course, there are other things that seem so pressing like say, readjusting the screws on the toilet bowl seat or turning the cushions on the sofa.  But when does it become time to just do it.  Well, for me that time came with the realization of how important my work is to me and to others.  Yesterday I had the wonderful pleasure of speaking with a fellow writer whom I’ve only known for a short time.  I met him at a play writing class a year or so ago.  We were at the same meeting. on yesterday  When I walked in I was tired from writing all day and I had play rehearsal after this meeting.  Seeing him was very uplifting.  We talked mostly about our writing.  Because I work alone a LOT I don’t get much time to talk with other writers.  I was so thankful to be able to have something to add to the conversation.  Some times I  feel like I’m  this thing alone.       Honestly I don’t think I can stop world hunger, war, and poverty by reading a book or by writing an article but I have come to realize that my work counts and it is important that I write my story even if it’s just for me.

Let’s talk more next week

Leave a Reply

