Handling My Business


So many people have their ideas about what I do.  Since I work from home I’m often thought of as doing less work.  It is not uncommon for me to hear statements like, “If I had the time that you have I would…”  or “Sure you can do that, you’re at hom all day.”    There are those who think I wake up at two or three o’clock in the evening.  Then dressed in my silk pjs, with a cup of hot tea I perch myself upon a cushioned chair with soft jazz in the background and write beautiful. flowing fiction and plays while a lightly scented candles flickers in the background.  Once my work is complete I submit it and instantly I’m given a contract and my work is published in well-known magazines.  Okay, first of all, I don’t own a pair of silk pjs. And the older I get I find it harder to perch myself upon anything.  Basically the way it works is I get up in the morning and have a cup of tea.  I put a load of clothes in the washer, put out the garbage, answer emails and make a decision of what I need to work on for the day. Usually I’m working on three or four things at a time.  Presently, I’m working on several grant applications and a couple of book reviews as well as a novel and several other small stories.  All of this is in addition to being in rehearsal for Fabulation, a play that will open in a couple of weeks.  I also serve on a couple of boards and am active in my church and other community organization.  Basically, I rarely have time to light the candle or turn on the jazz.  Now, don’t get me wrong, I love what I do but I feel offended when people dismiss what I do as nothing or refer to me as lazy.  I often hear people say things like, “Boy you’ve got it made.  You get to stay at home all day.”  I don’t know how to respond to these types of remarks.  I mean I don’t feel comfortable with saying, “I’m not lazy I do lots of things.”  By the same token I don’t feel comfortable with not saying anything at all.  I’ve found that the greatest response that I can give  is to handle my business, do the work that I’m committed to doing.

Let’s talk more next week

2 thoughts on “Handling My Business

  1. I’m sitting here in my worn flannel pj’s, sipping on lukewarm tea (it used to be hot!), and reading your entry, empathizing with all you say. As a work-from-home writer, I ‘get it,’ on so many levels. I’m working harder now than ever before, and with more pressure, because the income I make depends on ME. But others envy my lifestyle. That’s fine..when people make comments to me about my work (or perceived lack of), I simply say “I’m blessed.” And I’m reminded how blessed I am every time I get stuck in a traffic jam (rarely) and know that I don’t have to deal with that on a daily basis!

Leave a Reply

