Am I ready for a challenge?


I am so excited about being cast in the play Fabulation written by Lynn Nottage.  Lynn Nottage is a superb African-American Playwright.  I have found such inspiration in her work.   Fabulation is about an affluent young woman, Undine, who has to come back to her family after her husband runs off with all of her money.  When she comes home she finds that all of her family members have found different ways to cope with day-to-day life.  

I play the role of the grandmother.  I’ve acted in several plays that have challenged me in different ways but I must say that this character is my most challenging role yet.  When I played Calpurnia in To Kill A Mockingbird, it was my first time to be on stage.   And to share the stage with so many actors that had more experience was very challenging.  When I was cast in Rocky Horror one of my biggest challenges was the fact that I didn’t know the story.  i guess I was one of the five people in the world who’d never seen the movie.  Also, since I was cast as a Transylvanian, it was a different kind of acting experience for me.  I’d never been in a play where I had no lines.  Playing Duchess in HATS was a challenge because I was very self conscience about my singing.  In this show I shared the stage with professional musicians, actors and directors.  I questioned myself many times.  Why in the world did they cast me?  A friend of mine finally said, “The directors felt that you were great for the role so accept it.”   The role of grandma in Fabulation brings about new challenges that leave me feeling that this is the most challenging role yet.  Grandma is a wonderful character who interacts lovingly with Undine, her granddaughter and the rest of her family.  I love the way Lynn Nottage developed this character.  She’s not just the stereotypical grandma who knits and goes to church etc.  She’s a real person with real needs and crushed dreams. 

This will be the first time I will be performing on Millsaps’ stage.  I am quite excited.  The cast is dynamic.  

Let’s talk again next week.

Leave a Reply

